Poon Hill Trek

5.0

Based on 6 Reviews

Poon Hill Trek

Poon Hill Trek Summary

    1. Hike to Poon Hill Duration: 4 Days
    2. Trek Difficulty: Easy Grade
    3. Poon Hill Height: 3,210m / 10,532 feet
    4. Trekking Hour: 5/6 Hours daily
    5. Hiking Group-Size: 1 – 14 People
    6. Trip Mode: Guest House Basis
    7. Best Time: February, March, April, May, October, November and December
    8. Foods on Poon hill route: Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner
    9. Transportation: Car/Plane/Bus

Overview

The Poon Hill trek is a famous place to explore sunrise over the Annapurna mountain range located at an altitude of 10,532 feet. Commonly spoken Ghorepani Poon Hill trek is an idle place to discover breathtaking mountain scenery, and beautiful hills and the villages have made an all-time famous short trek from Pokhara.

Hike to poon hill is considered to be an introduction to the excellent wonders of trekking in the Annapurna Region. It’s the best trek route for first-time visitors in terms of the short and easy trail that the distance is roughly 52 kilometers (32 miles) from Pokhara town.

Furthermore, hiking to Ghorepani village and trekking to poon hill are the top 10 best short treks from Pokhara. It’s a world-famous and demanding trek route equally common for national and international tourists to explore sunrise over the Annapurna massif within a 5-kilometer distance. Likewise, the poon hill hike is striking as the cheapest trek in Nepal.

poon hill sunrise and sunset

Mount Annapurna 1st (8th tallest) mountain on earth is one of the most marvelous peaks in the world that can see from Poon Hill tower. Numerous voyagers plan for top viewpoint treks in the Annapurna in fact poon hill trekking is the top Annapurna view trek in Nepal.

Moreover, the poon hill trek route is possible in 3 days or in 4 days according to your holiday in Nepal. Walk through the colorful rhododendrons forest, and bamboo take us to Gurung and Magar ethnic communities.

However, 4 days poon hill trek is the best package plan to walk at normal speed exploring almost all aspects with taking enough photos. In addition, a hike for the poon hill route is possible for school and college students of all ages.

Poon Hill sunset view

How much does Poon Hill Trek Package Cost/Price?

The cost of the Poon hill trek package with a Pokhara local trek agency ranges between US$ 235 to US$ 398. However, the Poon hill hike cost is depending upon the group size you are wayfaring to and the amenities you choose. Likewise, the poon hill trek package for Nepali local tourists is a bit cheaper because of conservation permits.

We also have a discount deal for group leaders. For example, if you could bring 10+ travelers (except you) to your hikes, you are treated as a group leader. So you can hike Poon hill for free of cost.

However, we often arrange Poon hill private trips in order to avoid group tours with strangers. A private tour gives you a better experience on your hikes. If you value personalization, flexibility, and in-depth experiences, a private trip customized to your personal needs will be the best option.

A trip to Poon Hill is a standard trip package price for 4 days trek. If you are 2 Tourists Poon Hill trek cost US$ 299 as per the given trekking plan. We can modify the trek route and price as per your travel plan and budget. Here is the price list for the poon hill treks.

Price Per Person for 4 days Poon Hill route hike.

Number of TouristPrice Per Person
1 PersonUS$ 398
2 PersonUS$ 299
3 PersonUS$ 290
4 to 6 personUS$ 270
7 to 9 PersonUS$ 250
10 and more than 10 PersonUS$ 235

If you’re wondering to know about what is included and what is excluded from this trip price, kindly check on the cost given on a tab button.

Itinerary

Poon Hill Trek itinerary details.

Amazing sunrise and sunset at poon hill is a classical trek 4 days itinerary compared to most walks in the Annapurna Zone. The particular route is designed for world explorers who wish to hike in a more relaxed manner than take a look at this itinerary.

However, for travelers who wish to do Poon hill quickly but are walking with limited time wise Poon Hill Trek in 3 days is also possible. Just ask us for a tailor-made itinerary if you wish for the best short trek near Pokhara.

01 Day An express drive to New Bridge, 7/8 hours. Trek to Sudame (1,160m/3,805 feet), 2 hours

In the morning, a guide will come to meet you in your hotel and transfer to the bus station to catch a coach to Nayapool. The bus drives along the Trishuli and Marshyangdi valleys to reach Pokhara. As you are driving by bus, you can experience some of the impressive mountains of Langtang, Mt.Ganesh Himal, Mt.Manasalu, Lamjung Himal, and naturally the Annapurna.

Likewise, we continue to drive to Nayapool via the scenic Annapurna view without stopping in Pokhara town. Tourists can also fly from Kathmandu to Pokhara airport city paying an extra cost of US$ 75 per person. However, a flight is better to avoid a long day drive (roughly 9 hours) and also in terms of the Mountains view of the Himalayas.

Buddha Air Pokhara flight

Pokhara is a beautiful town, get your way to visit Annapurna trails. Reaching Nayapool Bazaar, we begin our thrilling Annapurna vista trek to Birethanti. Bire Thanti is a center point of hotels, cafes, a police check post, a bakery shop, a bank, and a nice little village town to have fun.

After checking Annapurna permits at the ACAP office, we continue about 2 hour hike to get to Sudame village. The route winds through the lush green forest and fertile fields to Sudame. This Sudame village offers nice guest houses with delicious organic meals.

Birethanti Trekking
2 DayGhorepani trekking (2,875m/9,433 feet), 6/7 hours

After breakfast, overland Bus drive to Ulleri (2,055m/6,742 feet) village through Birethanti check-post and Nayapool Bazaar. Nayapool is a gateway to exploring the Annapurna range and Ulleri to Ghorepani trail is the best location for bird watching.

Driving with a jeep/Bus to Hile is one of the easiest ways to avoid the dusty road and also driving to Ulleri, you can avoid the 2,500 stone stairs uphill of Ulleri. Travelers can take lunch at Ulleri Guest house and continue the journey.

Ulleri village

Furthermore, Ulleri offers the scenic Mountains of Fishtail (a virgin mountain Machhapuchhare) and Mt. Hiunchuli (6,441m) view. Additionally, there is a South Annapurna (7,219m) grand view in front of us. Now, our trail is quite easier to pass across the Rhododendron woods and shadowy trees and ascend gently up to the final camp at Ghorepani village.

Ghorepani trek

Ghore Pani is an amazing village situated at an elevation of 2,874 meters above the sea and offers the best mountain view from their super fine guest houses. Additionally, Ghorepani is a center point to explore the Kali Gandaki Valley and Annapurna Sanctuary and many other famous trekking routes in the Annapurna.

3 DayPoon Hill Trek (3,220m/10,565 feet). Trek further to Tadapani village (2,675m/8,777 feet), 6/7 hours

Very early in the morning, we hike to Poon Hill located 346 meters above popular Ghorepani lodges. Sunrise from poon hill is a top thing to do during your hikes therefore reaching the poon hill tower, tourists can see a jaw-dropping view of the Annapurna summits and its territory.

Poon Hill Trek

Furthermore, you can enjoy the sunrise view over Mt.Dhaulagiri (8,167m), Tukuche Peak (6,920m), Nilgiri (6,940m), Varaha Shikhar (7,847m), Mt. Annapurna Ist (8,091m), Annapurna South (7219m), Annapurna III (7,855m.), Machhapuchhare (6,993m.), Annapurna IV (7,525m.), Annapurna II (7,937m.), Lamjung Himal (6,931m.) ..etc.

Moreover, we began our hike to Ghandruk village passing Deurali and Tadapani ridgeline, a gateway to explore the Annapurna Base Camp Trekking. Reach the Tadapani hill passing Rhododendron woodland, little streams, and beautiful flowers. And stay overnight at a guest house.

4 DayTrek to Ghandruk village (1,940m/6,363 feet), 2/3 hours. And return to Pokhara Phewa Lakeside by Bus/Jeep, 4 hours

Continue to descend downhill through the forests while following the forest path to Ghandruk. It’s the biggest Gurung settlement in the Annapurna region. Visit the Gurung museum if you have time for a couple of hours to see and take your time to Ghandruk village explore. Interact with Gurung people, and experience the typical culture, and way of Gurung life.

Ghandruk Museum

The Ghandruk has enough modern lodges from basic homestays to luxury guest houses with modern facilities. In addition, the village offers just a magical Annapurna and Fishtail mountain view within some kilometers of distance.

Later breakfast at the Gurung guest house, we explore the Gurung museum and Gurung lifestyles. We take an overland bus ride to reach Pokhara town and also to Kathmandu. Ghandruk to Pokhara connects with a Baglung highway road.

Most parts of our journey to Pokhara town have bumpy roads. The drive with a local bus ride takes roughly about 3 or 4 hours. Tourists can experience the surprise view of South Annapurna, Hiunchuli, Fishtail, and Gangapurna Mountains.

Pokhara City tour package

Reaching Pokhara city, go to visit Phewa lake locating Pokhara lakeside. You are with your hiking guide (your trekking leader) to observe the beautiful Fewa lake in Pokhara. You can boat on Phewa lake and visit Barahi temple. After boating, we take a Night Tourist Bus to return to Kathmandu city. Alternatively, the tourists can stay at Pokhara lakeside at their own cost. Trip finish.

Not satisfied with above plan?

Interested in planning a custom trip? this might take 2 to 3 minutes.

Cost

How much does the poon hill trek cost?

Our Poonhill hiking or poon hill hike price is US$ 299 per person on 2 people traveling together base. As per the given Annapurna mountain trip, 3 nights 4 days is the cheapest Ghorepani poon hill trek package from Pokhara.

Likewise, taking flights to and from Pokhara saves your time, and riding the bus reduces trip expenses. For the deluxe and luxury trekking tour plan, we add Kathmandu – Pokhara – Kathmandu round trip airfare, 3 to 5-star category hotel deluxe air-conditioned room in Kathmandu and in Pokhara town. In addition, standard lodge accommodation with an attached toilet/bathroom while on trekking routes. AND WE ARE OPEN TO CUSTOMIZING YOUR TOUR AND PACKAGE PRICE AS PER YOUR REQUIREMENTS. International tour leaders are highly encouraged to get discounts and attractive complimentary.

4 days Poon hill trek package price includes:

  • Bus transportation from Kathmandu to Nayapool Bazaar.
  • 3 Breakfast, 4 Lunch, and 3 Dinner during the Poon hill tour treks.
  • 3 Nights Lodge accommodation while on Poon hill trekking routes.
  • Tourist Bus transfer from Pokhara to Kathmandu for guide/porters.
  • Fully escorted trek with English-speaking certified trek guide.
  • Poon Hill Trek Permits (Annapurna Conservation permits + TIMS permits) fees.
  • Ghandruk to Pokhara Bus station (Bus Park) transfer with an available local Bus [shared] and by taxi/car to Phewa lakeside at your hotel.
  • Gokyo Treks & Expedition Printed Duffel bag and Sleeping bag – if Necessary (return after the trek).
  • Seasonal fruits like apples and pomegranates as a dessert after dinner for Poonhill trekking.
  • Insurance, Food, accommodation, and salary of Nepali trekking staff.
  • First Aid kit including Fingertip Pulse Oximeter to check to avoid high risk (with guide).
  • Latest Poon hill trek map and trek certificate – you keep yourself for a souvenir.
  • Nepal Government Tax, VAT, and as well as Company service charge.

Sunrise Poon hill Package trek price excludes:-

  • Nepal entry visa fees
  • Foods during your stay in Kathmandu and Pokhara city.
  • Any kinds of battery charges, laundry service, phone calls, and hot showers during the trekking.
  • Guest’s Personal trekking gear, other hiking equipments .
  • Personal nature expenses, all types of drinks, and bar bills.
  • Travel insurance is mandatory in case of emergency while hiking in the Annapurna mountain.
  • Any donation and monument entrance fees.
  • Trekking porter if you need to carry your backpacks.
  • Birethanti to Ulleri village transportation by Local Bus/jeep (pay directly).
  • Gratuities for guide and porters [Tip is a culture, so they expect highly].
  • Any other things which are not mentioned above

Group join

Book a trip and get a free Ghorepani – poon hill trek map as it helps to find the right location, Annapurna peaks, and heights. The map is about 1:50,000 scale with 500 series and publishes from Himalayan Map House, Thamel. poon hill trek map

We can organize private Poon hill trekking starting on any date that works for you. Please contact us for more information.

Departure Date Availbility Price Book
30 Jan, 2023 – 02 Feb, 2023Avaiable299
10 Feb, 2023 – 13 Feb, 2023Avaiable299
20 Feb, 2023 – 23 Feb, 2023Avaiable299
10 Mar, 2023 – 13 Mar, 2023Avaiable299
20 Mar, 2023 – 23 Mar, 2023Avaiable299
25 Mar, 2023 – 28 Mar, 2023Avaiable299
05 Apr, 2023 – 08 Apr, 2023Avaiable299
10 Apr, 2023 – 13 Apr, 2023Avaiable299
20 Apr, 2023 – 23 Apr, 2023Avaiable299
25 Apr, 2023 – 28 Apr, 2023Avaiable299
10 May, 2023 – 13 May, 2023Avaiable299
20 May, 2023 – 23 May, 2023Avaiable299
10 Sept, 2023 – 13 Sept, 2023Avaiable299
20 Sept, 2023 – 23 Sept, 2023Avaiable299
05 Oct, 2023 – 08 Oct, 2023Avaiable299
10 Oct, 2023 – 13 Oct, 2023Avaiable299
20 Oct, 2023 – 23 Oct, 2023Avaiable299
25 Oct, 2023 – 28 Oct, 2023Avaiable299
05 Nov, 2023 – 08 Nov, 2023Avaiable299
10 Nov, 2023 – 13 Nov, 2023Avaiable299
20 Nov, 2023 – 23 Nov, 2023Avaiable299
05 Dec, 2023 – 08 Dec, 2023Avaiable299
20 Dec, 2023 – 23 Dec, 2023Avaiable299
25 Dec, 2023 – 28 Dec, 2023Avaiable299
30 Dec, 2023 – 02 Jan, 2024Avaiable299
10 Jan, 2024 – 13 Jan, 2024Avaiable299
20 Jan, 2023 – 23 Jan, 2023Avaiable299

Guaranteed – Trip is Guaranteed to run.

Available – Trip is available to run if minimum group size is filled

Limited – Only few space available

FAQ

Question: Do I need the experience to visit poon hill?

Answer: No! Hike poon hill is one of the easiest hikes in Nepal best for beginner tourists. Although the hill station is about 10,500 feet above sea level offers the best Annapurna mountain range. The terrain is a nice uphill trail, which is easier across the Gurung village. Thus, you do not need any experience to trek.

Question: Is pick-up service available on my arrival day in Kathmandu?

Answer: Yes sure. Provide us with your flight details. Our spokesperson will come to pick up you at Kathmandu international airport.

Question: Can I store my luggage/stuff in Kathmandu?

Answer: Yes, you can leave your luggage at your hotel or at our office. Storing your stuff in the Gokyo Treks agency office is free.

Question: Is Poon Hill trekking Safe for the Solo Female Trekkers?

Answer: Absolutely yes. Nepal is a safe country to travel to for solo travelers; the Poon Hill hike is perfectly safe for solo female trekkers. We have been organizing the trek even for solo female travelers since its establishment.

Question: What kind of accommodation can I expect on the rapid Poon hill sunrise tour?.

Answer: We provide you tourist standard accommodation in Kathmandu and on trekking. The rooms along the routes are clean with a cozy bed with a nice mattress and blankets. Be that as it may, we recommend you take your own sleeping bags if you have one with you otherwise, you may rent them while you are in Kathmandu.

Question: What kind of food can I expect in the express Poon hill lodge trek?.

Answer: Your journey on Poon Hill Trek, they have attached restaurants. They cook a delicious range of mostly vegetarian such as Pasta, tuna bakes, noodles, potatoes, eggs, rice curry, bread, and soups.

Question: How do I get drinking water on the short poon hill trekking?.

Answer: We advise you to bring Aqua tablets to refine the normal water as the normal water is available at the campsite or in every local village.

Question: Can I charge my digital camera / Phone or other batteries on my trip?

Answer: Yes, at lodges, there are changing stations where you can recharge the battery however, we advise you to bring an extra pair in case. Remember to bring your adapters! An extra battery will be suggested.

Question: Are there any wifi facilities?.

Answer: At the Poonhill trek route, you can get telephone services but they are a bit expensive. Thus, we suggest you buy a local Sim Card to get 4G internet data service for calls and messages.

Question: Can I use credit cards in Poon hill tea house Trekking?.

Answer: Not yet! So, for the outdoor route, you need to have cash Nepali rupees because credit cards work only in the bigger city areas.

Question: When should I book my trip and what are the payment terms?.

Answer: Our tours book up months in advance, we recommend booking early to avoid any misunderstanding. We will, of course, make every effort to accommodate last-minute bookings.

And regarding the deposit, we prefer a 10% advance deposit of the total price of the trip in order to confirm your reservation before you arrive in Nepal. And the remaining part of the payment can be made on your arrival in Nepal.

Question: Who will carry my luggage on poon hill short trekking?

Answer: We provide porters to transfer your luggage. As we are a responsible trekking tour operator agency, each of our porters carries a maximum of 24 kilos of your backpack which means 2 guests (12 kilos luggage of each guest): 1 porter basis.

Question: Pokhara to poon hill distance?.

Answer: The poon hill ridge is the highest hill station area to watch the best sunrise and sunset over the Annapurna mountain range. Travelers can reach there with a 1-day drive and 1 full-day hike. Pokhara to poon hill’s distance is 61.4 (38 miles) kilometers. Because the distance from Phewa lakeside Pokhara to Nayapool is around 45.4 km (28.2 miles). Likewise, the Kathmandu to Poon Hill distance is around 271 kilometers.

Question: How much distance do I walk each day?

Answer: When walking in the Annapurna mountains, the distance you cover each day can vary due to gradient, terrain, and altitude. As such it is very hard to give certain distances each day, nevertheless, you need to prepare for roughly about 5 hours to walk each day.

Question: Is it possible to hike Poon hill without a guide?.

Answer: Splendid Ghorepani trek is the most popular and easy trek difficulty in Nepal. Trekkers can visit poon hill without a guide for sure but the trail is connected with several small cow trails to go to the old villages. So there might be some confusion to find out the right route. Trekking, especially in the winter months cover full of snow and the tiny trail is icy in some parts. To avoid loss and in terms of safety, we recommend you hire at least a guide. It is not a matter of money but having a guide is the right company for your safety as you are traveling into the wilderness Himalayas.

Question: Is it possible to rent a guide? how to hire a local trek guide?

Answer: Yes of course. If you are not happy to go with the complete full board package about poon hill treks, still you can hire our expert guide to make your holiday tour safer. However, visit a guide and porter hire or email us for your detailed travel inquiry.

Question: Do I need walking poles for the Poon Hill sunrise trek?

Answer: It is better to hike with walking poles. Learn how to use trekking poles for balance and stability, whether on the sidewalk or on trails. Walking poles can help prevent slips and falls. They are just recommended but not compulsory.

Question: How much additional money do I need per day?

Answer: You can allocate US$ 08 – 10 for a lunch/dinner in Kathmandu and it depends on your spending habits. US$ 7 to 10 US$ each day will be enough to buy bottles of water, chocolates, tea coffee, and some drinks while you are on your trek.

Poon Hill Trek Highlights

  • Poon hill trek offers Annapurna Himalayas within 160 deg angle from poon hill ridge.
  • Stroll through cultivated fields, excellent views of Dhaulagiri, Nilgiri, Annapurna South, Fishtail & more.
  • Natural hot springs and nice waterfalls along the trek routes
  • Golden color of Annapurna mountains on sunset if you hike poon hill in the evening.
  • Multi-colorful Rhododendron flowers on the trail if travel in March, April, and May.
  • Meeting the Gurung and other ethnic groups and their local lives.

How safe is trekking to Ghorepani Poon Hill in Nepal?

Security is absolutely the main concern so first safety and success. That is the reason why we just don’t think twice about it comes to keeping the expense of our climbs and trekkings low.

Our traveling guides have been chosen based on their specialized capability, demonstrated security execution, flawless judgment, amicable mentality, and capacity to give valuable and master guidelines.

They are additionally exceptionally expert and very much prepared in medical aid and individual insurance gear. Medical aid packs are accessible on totally directed journeys and climb on Ghorepani Poon Hill.

Choose the best month to get the best weather in Poon Hill.

Visitors will have the best weather all the time, and possible to see an amazing outlook of the complete Annapurna massive from the poon hill ridge. Traveling either in the spring or autumn season stays the best weather with the sun shining and blue sky.

Trek in spring is even more interesting as the whole jungle turns to red, pink, and white with rhododendron flowers. This path is equally popular as a mini Annapurna express trekking tour stays an easy difficult and happy trek best 4 days trek in Nepal. It is also the best beginner trek in the Himalayas and is possible to hike at any time throughout the year.

poon hill sunrise tour

But Monsoon in Nepal has another story. June, July, and August months are monsoon time and a hike to Poonhill is not recommended in the peak monsoon period in Nepal.

Therefore before visiting, poon hill station, check the latest forecast for poon hill weather because the Poonhill tower often gets foggy, and cloudy. The Hilltop poonhill area is called Nepal’s most rainfall place and has roughly a 10% chance to catch the best glimpse of the Annapurna massif.

What To Pack for The Poon Hill Trek?

Your stuff is your dearest companion while being out in the mountains. It, truth be told, doesn’t make any difference where you are going, your gear is critical. In outrageous cases, stuff can have an effect on life and passing. For each situation, the right hardware can have the effect between you living it up and winding up hopeless.

You have booked your tickets, your aide in Nepal is pausing and presently you rock up with a too-substantial knapsack, a medium-thick coat, and shoes that are probably going to give you rankles. What a waste. Pack the right stuff and make a greater amount of your excursion to Poon Hill.

Before we start, note something significant. We are traveling, not climbing. Henceforth, you can leave the ropes, the chalk, and the carabiners in your wardrobe.

Underneath we present you an essential exhaustive pressing rundown reasonable for any journey in Nepal including the Poon Hill Trek:

  • Duffel Bag
  • Rucksack with Rain Cove Daypack
  • Hiking Boots
  • Sandals or Shoes
  • Hiking Socks
  • Trekking Poles
  • Inner Socks
  • Thermal Baselayer
  • T-Shirts
  • Fleece Pullover or Jacket
  • Light Weight Thermal Tops
  • Waterproof Jacket
  • Sports Bra for Her
  • Hiking Shorts
  • Hiking Pants
  • Waterproof Pants

Clearly there is more you can pack and bring along. Everybody is unique, so everybody has their own necessities.

4 days Poon Hill Trekking Notes;-

Hike to Poonhill solo is also possible if you are an individual client. But you can join the group trip is better and cheaper comparing the prices. The Poon hill hike information is subject to change due to a condition out of our control.

This is a simple Guideline showing tentative camp night stops. If guests want a customized poon hill trek itinerary for 3 days then it is also possible. Nevertheless, physical, technical, and natural conditions may change the above itineraries.

“What makes Poon Hill Trek special?”

Opportunities for challenging trekking or hiking and pleasant strolls are scattered all over this planet. You need to know where to find the right hikes for your holiday.

We at Gokyo Treks and Expedition believe in quality services. Your safety and satisfaction is our concern. We are a team of professional and licensed local guides who know the destination better than others.

Poon Hill Trek Review

Very best experience - 5D4N Poonhill Sunrise Trek

Rated 5 out of 5
December 30, 2019

We joined 5D4N Poonhill Trek in mid-Dec with Gokyo Treks Nepal and it was an amazing experience.

Ammar has been very responsive since the beginning we got in touch and has been very helpful in making meaningful suggestions. Our guide Ram and porter Prince were both very kind and professional and we had a great time in the Annapurna region.

I would recommend Gokyo Treks Nepal to my friends for sure.

Avatar for Helen Fung Lin
Helen Fung Lin

Response from Gokyo Treks Nepal

Thank you dear Helen for the best review.

From US$ 305

2% Off US$ 299See Group Discount
No. of peoplePrice Per Person
1 USD 398
2 USD 299
3 USD 290
4 - 6 USD 270
7 - 9 USD 250
10 + USD 235
Tripadvisor award of Gokyo TreksBook NowCustomize Trip

Quick Inquiry

    Cost & Departures

    Your Trip Your Style!

    ITINERARY, COST, DEPARTURES, will adjusted according to your GROUP SIZE NEED TIME

    Book with Confidence

    • Lowest Price Guaranteed.
    • 100% Customizable Trips
    • Excellent Customer Service
    • Hassle Free Booking.
    • 90 % Repeated customers
    • Highly Recommended agency
    • Private/group tour options
    • Local Guides Company.